Office of Teacher Education Bloomington

To:

School of Education Policy Council

From:

Chair, Undergraduate Scholarship Committee

Date:

April 19, 2013

RE:

Annual Report for the 2012-13 Undergraduate Scholarship Committee

The Undergraduate Scholarship Committee initially met on February 20, 2013, to distribute scholarship application materials, discuss the review process, and address any questions committee members had. The committee then met again on March 5 to select scholarship recipients for the 2013-14 academic year. Those in attendance at the March meeting included Suzanne Eckes, Melissa Keller, Pete Kloosterman, Carmen Medina, and Katie Paulin. Leanna McClain was not able to attend this meeting, but she did participate in the Jepsen International Study Scholarship selection process, and Laura Stachowski participated in the selection process for the Stutzman and Hinkle awards.

Returning Students

- 102 complete applications were submitted
- 48 students received awards
- total award amount to returning students: \$89,900
- we also used \$53,000 of endowed scholarships for awards to returning Direct Admit Scholarship renewals

Incoming Students

we awarded \$55,800 of endowed scholarships to 29 incoming freshmen.

Laura Stachowski and Katie Paulin will be meeting this summer to discuss the review process for the UG Scholarship program, and to explore the creation of a standard set of procedures, such as a rubric to use in scoring the various components of the scholarship applications, to aid in future meetings of the Undergraduate Scholarship Committee.

> Respectfully submitted by Laura L. Stachowski, Chair, on behalf of the UG Scholarship Committee